Paula Rosenberg Freelance Writer: Online Portfolio

Information on NYC based Writer, Paula Rosenberg

Viewshound Personal Essay: TV Reruns

leave a comment »

Check out my essay for Viewshound’s Film and TV section on my addiction with watching reruns of my favorite TV shows.

Viewshound TV Essay

(Please note Viewshound’s website was closed in January of 2012, the link no longer works, but you can read the article as it appeared below)

The sad reality of TV summer programming

While the summer TV line up is dominated by reality shows, I am choosing to spend the season revisiting some of my favorite shows from the past.

By Paula Rosenberg – Sunday 12 Jun 2011
Punky Brewster, Facts of Life, Daria, Greatest American Hero, That Girl, Mary Tyler Moore Show, reality shows, summer tv

Shutterstock_63318691

Anyone for an episode of “Fame”?

Over the summer while our favorite shows are on hiatus, we are subjected to non stop reality TV. Instead of being forced to endure all day marathons of “Khloe and Lamar” or “Jersey Shore”, I’m revisiting some old favorites. Programs from days gone by continue to pop up everywhere. There are a number of reasons that they are worth revisiting.

Let’s face it, the price of going to see a movie in this economy isn’t really an affordable activity for a Brooklynite up to her ears in student loans like me. Why spend $22.00 for you and your significant other on a 90 minutes movie when you could purchase the entire first season of “Melrose Place” for $19.00? That’s 32 one hour episodes, so when you break it down you’d be spending just over fifty cents per hour of entertainment that will probably last you through the summer. If you want to be even thriftier you can rent sessions of past series using Netflix – plans start at a mere $4.99 per month. Some cable stations such as TV Land, TBS, and ALN are playing shows in syndication. You can tune in and catch “MASH”, “St. Elsewhere”, and “Seinfeld” if you still haven’t gotten over them ending. If entertainment truly isn’t in your budget this season, you can check out websites such as Hulu.com that allow you to view full episodes of “Doogie Howser M.D”, “Welcome Back Kotter”, and hundreds of other programs of yesteryear for free.

For me personally, it is more than just the economic factor that brings me back to my favorites again and again. Whether or not times were really as rosy as we make them out to be, our favorite shows take us back to wonderful memories of our childhood. Revisiting “Punky Bruster” and “Facts of Life” I felt like I was reconnecting with my fellow tomboy chums Punky and Jo and I was stoked to relieve the years of high school angst when my sister bought me the complete series of “Daria”. I can’t imagine that anyone was more excited then me when they released “The Greatest American Hero” on DVD. The warm memories of running around my parents’ Northeast Ohio home in my Wonder Woman underoos and singing the theme song made me feel like tracking down a six pack of TAB and some pixie sticks. I even enjoy being able to re-watch my favorite Saturday morning cartoons online, although it does bring up my childhood disappointment when I learned that becoming Jem or Cheetarah when I grew up were not possible career options.

Even revisiting shows that were a little before my time, have me traipsing down memory lane. My family were Nick at Nite junkies and re-watching “The Mary Tyler Moore” and “That Girl” reminded me that Mary Richards and Ann Marie were my first heroes. I credit the desire to be a successful, independent woman largely on those characters. I often have the urge to run out of my Times Square office and toss my hat in the air as I cross the street, but what 28 year old Midwest transplant doesn’t?

While I love me some Donna Martin, it is more likely that I will be revisiting “Beverly Hills: 90210” on Soap Net as apposed to watching the latest season of “Tori and Dean” this summer. Who knows? If we all start re-watching the classics instead of the reality junk out there today, executives might actually bring quality programming back.

Written by paularosenberg

June 27, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

