Paula Rosenberg Freelance Writer: Online Portfolio

Information on NYC based Writer, Paula Rosenberg

American Theater Wing Essay: My Fair Lady

leave a comment »

I had an essay in the American Theater Wing’s contest “The Play That Change My Life”  My essay was in the top three in the public voting for the contest. Here is my essay on “My Fair Lady”.

American Theater Wing Essay (Please note that the essays were removed from the American Theater Wing’s website in 2010.  The link no longer works, but you can view the essay as it appeared below.)

My Fair Lady

The first show I ever saw was My Fair Lady at the Huntington Playhouse in Bay Village, Ohio.  I was five years old and to this day it has been one of the most profound experiences of my life.

My father loved theater, musicals in particular.  He took me to see this production and it kindled my addiction to theater.  Eliza Doolittle became my hero. She defied every rule I had learned in school.  She spoke about topics she was asked not to bring up in public, and best of all she would talk back to her teacher if she disagreed with him.  She was Rambo to an obedient Midwest girl like me.

I was so inspired by Miss Doolittle that I had the courage to go on stage. I auditioned for the school talent show as a kindergartener and was chosen to be the opening act.  I sang “Wouldn’t It Be Loverly” and no one has been able to drag me off the stage since that moment.

After seeing My Fair Lady, I made my father take me to every community theater production I got wind of – leading to a life time love affair with Lerner and Lowe, Rogers and Hammerstein, and Irving Berlin.  Eventually I got to see professional touring companies that came to Cleveland.  By the time I reached the ripe old age of eight, I decided that I would have to move to New York one day just to be able to see Broadway shows frequently.

Twenty years after seeing my first show, I finally relocated to the Big Apple.  I do get to see shows on the Great White Way on a fairly regular basis.  I have even had some playbills signed by major celebrities.  Yet, to this day no autograph experience has been as thrilling as having the entire cast of that Ohio community theater sign my program.

Written by paularosenberg

December 13, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

